It is a small and charming village abandoned on the ridge between the ditches of Rio Petroso and Varotto, tributaries of the Bidente di Pietrapazza. There was a castle already documented in 1118. With the Florentine conquest it was a commune of the "Capitanato della Val di Bagno", then for centuries a populous country parish. Today everything is in ruins: the houses, the church once dedicated to S. Biagio, the cemetery built in 1883. In 1961 it still had 60 inhabitants, but not light, a decent street and school, a regular post office. At the census of 1971 there is no longer any inhabitant.
From S. Piero in Bagno it is possible to reach by car the Passo del Carnaio with the SP. 26 (km 4.00). It is then necessary to take a dirt road that starts at the elbow curve of the Provincial road and that must be covered for a hundred meters, then follow on foot to take the mule track that, on the right, goes down to Rio Petroso.